top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnchovy

Battle Cutscenes and Small Demo Plans

There really is a charm writing battles compared to normal scenes. As most would find it much more complicated to create rather than where there are just characters speaking, I have an easier time in this field. It is also here where I shine the most since I grew up drawing battle manga in class. People always looked forward to what would I draw next and the continuation of the story. Of course they would also be on the edge of their seats when the next great battle would come. It was a simpler time... when all I had to worry about was homework(Which I never did but that's besides the point). Azur no Owari is at the stage where it is finally stepping out of the preliminary scenes and moving onto the battles. It is here where character development can shine and here where the real challenge begins. Writing a single cutscene can take up to a day or two depending on how complicated they are. Battle scenes usually are about a few hours for me to write especially since I don't want an imbalance of battle scenes and player battles. Overall I have found writing them much easier to do most likely because of my experience despite the complicated techniques that must be done. This is what makes this chapter the most enjoyable to write by far (Trust me you'll be hearing this a lot for now on. Watch.) and I cannot wait until the players get to read this bad boy. What also makes this much easier is the engine used, the add-on RPG Maker MV GENE Scene Builder. Which I am surprised by the lack of information on it. The tool seems like an amazing breakthrough with what can be created in what seems like a lacking program in some essential categories. Though I also understand that most people are not creating what I have so there is no need for it. But I say it does make things much easier to write... The comparison can be seen as follows.

 


 

If you find yourself snoring at the sight of writing a cutscene in this engine, I highly recommend using this tool! I plan on talking about it in the near future! Despite this the tool is not without flaws. Writing in too much data overtaxes it and makes it impossible to open up scenes without it crashing. It also likes to crash when making big changes to big scenes so try not to fill it with too much. Trust me I have learned the hard way. I plan on going over the specifics for creating scenes sometime in the future! Look forward to that!

 


 

Lastly, I'd like to talk about small demo updates and getting out more communication. The things I can do are very limited as of now but streaming would be very fun. I'd like to start out with a general stream for everyone and a stream for Patrons only and supporters(If we get that far...). Doing something like this is a dream for me and I've always wanted to create a fun and caring community who we can tell glorious stories to each other and just have fun... So our next plan is to continue going through Chapter 2's scenes and gameplay using our new resources and start to share our work much more so that people can see what we are doing as well as be interested in us and our work. A small demo will drop soon containing very little of what you can do, however the quality of our work will be on display there and we very much would appreciate feedback and support! We will also be showing off new resources not JUST art! So that's where this video comes in. I present to you... Azur no Owari's main theme. The End of Azur.

 



 

See you all in the next update with more news to come! And keep your eyes out for our exclusive Patreon posts! Have a wonderful day, from Anchovy~

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Map Revamping: Yukiko Hotsprings

It's been quite sometime since we've updated the devlog over here on the website. The reason our team decided to stop updating was because we felt as though there was not enough material to warrant sh

bottom of page